Congregation Tifereth Israel

Committees & Chairs

Aleph – Rabbi Alex Braver

Aleph is the starting point for Jewish life in one’s 20s and 30s. Programming includes happy hours, learning, and social events. Reduced rates on synagogue membership and some events are available.

Board of Education Committee – Lisa Dragin, Chair

Oversees the administration of the Samuel M. Melton Religious School, recommends policies and procedures, and supports the Education Director and staff.

Budget/Finance Committee – Lee Rosenthal, Chair

Helps develop the budget, in partnership with the executive director, and is charged with identifying, prioritizing, and recommending expenses.

Building Committee – Howard Schottenstein & Greg Margulies, Co-Chairs

Monitors the building for repairs and improvements and develops maintenance projects with the executive director, as the budget allows. Charged with overseeing facility issues and identifying, prioritizing, and recommending capital improvements and deferred maintenance needs.

Cemetery Committee – Dr. Mark Levy, Chair

Works in conjunction with the professional staff and Chevra Kadisha to oversee both cemeteries and represent the synagogue to the Columbus Jewish Cemetery Association.

Chesed Committee – Cathy Levine, Chair

Identifies members of the congregation in need of support due to hardship and/or illness.

Chevra Kadisha Committee- Cathy Levine & Dr. Ted Borkan, Co-Chairs

Responsible for the ritual cleansing and dressing of the deceased before burial.

Cultural Arts Committee

Works with the synagogue in determining cultural arts programming.

Development Committee – Karl Rubin

Charged with developing and implementing fundraising programs and collections efforts.

High Holiday Honors Committee – Sheila Chodosh & Marty Rosenthal, Co-Chairs

Coordinates the aliyot and p’tichot for the High Holidays and solicits members for associated donations.

Historical Committee

Maintains the archives and historical documents of the congregation.

Israel Advocacy Committee – Karl Rubin, Chair

Works to celebrate and support the State of Israel and coordinates with community organizations related to Israel, including the JCC, Jewish Columbus, AIPAC, and others.

Jewish Learning Committee – Cathy Levine & Beth Brown, Co-Chairs

Designs class offerings and assists in general administration of the adult learning program in conjunction with the Associate Rabbi.

Library Committee – Renee Levine, Dr. Mark Levy & Alison Merzel, Co-Chairs

Works with the librarian to operate and organize the Minnie Cobey Library.

Membership Committee – Julie Jacobson

Responsible for welcoming and retaining members.

Northeast Committee

Coordinates and encourages programming and religious services in Northeast Columbus.

Personnel Committee – Sue Ehrlich & Alison Merzel, Co-Chairs

Manages the contracts and evealuations of the professional staff.

Religious Welfare Committee – David Stein, Chair

Works with the rabbis to determine religious policies and practices within the congregation.

Social Action Committee – Steve Edelstein & Maddy Fleisher

Works within the larger community of Columbus to fulfill the mitzvah of tikkun olam (repairing the world).

Tifereth Cares – Nancy Gurwin and Susan Sitler

Identifies members of the congregation in need of support, delivers soup and challah to those recovering from illness, and provides short term, ad-hoc volunteer opportunities to support older congregants, arranges for phone calls and meal trains.